MTV Associate, Lauren Nagel, Ph.D. Student at U. Michigan, receives an inaugural Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellowship

The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) has announced the first group of 100 female students from around the globe to receive a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellowship. Among them is U-M Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences Ph.D. Student Lauren Nagel. According to IAEA, out of over 550 applicants from more than 90 countries, the first 100 fellows represent geographic diversity, coming from 71 different countries. 

Read the full article here.

Neutrino Detectors for National Security

Prof. Alex Gaser (Princeton) and Prof. Patrick Huber (Va. Tech) are featured in the APA Physics paper titled, “Neutrino Detectors for National Security”.

Detecting neutrinos offers a new way to monitor the potential bomb materials inside a nuclear reactor, but the technology’s practicality remains uncertain.

Read the full APA Physics publication here.

(image credit: AP / Carin Cain) In the fission process, a neutron hits a uranium-235 nucleus, breaking it into two smaller, unstable nuclei, along with a few neutrons. These smaller nuclei, most often krypton and barium, then undergo a series of radioactive decays, emitting an electron (red) and an antineutrino (green) several times. While the decay path shown here leads to the emission of eight antineutrinos, other paths produce fewer antineutrinos. On average, six antineutrinos are emitted.

MTV 2020 Workshop success!!

The Consortium for Monitoring, Technology, and Verification (MTV) held a successful annual workshop on March 9 – 11, 2020 at the University of Michigan.

This year’s workshop welcomed 102 participants in person (85) and online (17). The audience included faculty (24) and students (50) from MTV universities as well as national laboratory affiliates (26) and government officials (2).

On March 9, the workshop with a welcome dinner at the University of Michigan Museum of Art (UMMA). We welcomed keynote speaker Megan Slinkard, Head of Software Integration at the International Data Centre Division of the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization, who discussed the topic “Verification of the CTBT”.

The workshop continued on March 10 and March 11 with opening talks by Randy Bell, NNSA, and an MTV overview by Sara Pozzi, MTV Director. The events continued with technical talks (15) and posters (29) which provided overviews of research accomplishments over the first year of the MTV project. MTV students provided 36 of these presentations including 8 of the presented talks. Four students won best presentation awards: Kelly Traux (University of Hawaii, Best Poster), William Steinberger (University of Michigan, Best Poster), Niral Shah (University of Michigan, Best Oral), and Stefano Marin (University of Michigan, Best Oral).

You can learn more about the workshop activities here!

University of Michigan welcomes Ms. Lisa Gordon-Hagerty to campus

MTV faculty and students welcome Ms. Lisa Gordon-Hagerty, Under Secretary for Nuclear Security of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and Administrator of the National Nuclear Security Administration, on January 14, 2020. 

Prof. Sara Pozzi, MTV Director, and a selection of MTV students took the opportunity to share about their work on select projects within the MTV effort.